Full

Ohmygoodness.

That’s all I can come up with.  My life is so full right now I don’t even know where to start!  Full is a good word.  Full of what?  I’m so glad you asked  🙂

My mornings start early (5 am early) and are full of yawns, plans, and prayers.  I plan my best lessons in the shower.  Something about the white noise, the relaxing warm water, and the solitude I guess.  If I’m having an issue with a student, I replay our latest altercation until I’ve analyzed it into oblivion.  I think through my next move.  I imagine all the possible results of that move.  I pray for guidance and wisdom.  I pray for the stinking kid that made me do all this thinking in the first place.  Then I drive an hour to work and laugh out loud at my favorite morning show the whole way.  I love arriving at work joyful.

My afternoons are full of teenagers!  Let me just offer a word of advice to all you introverts out there in cyberspace- if you need alone time to function, DO NOT become a teacher!  Luckily, I am not one of those people 🙂  As a high school teacher, the constant interaction (Mrs. Vaught, what are we doing today?  Free day?  Why do we have to work????  Can I plug in my phone?  Can I call my mom?  Can go to the computer lab and print something?  Why do I have a zero for this assignment?  Mrs. V, does this two page paper have to be a FULL two pages?  Did you grade my test yet?  Mrs. Vaught Mrs. Vaught Mrs. Vaught) brings its share of drama, but it also gives me the opportunity to invest in these kids’ lives.  I’d like to think I can relate to these kids, after all, it wasn’t that long ago that I was in high school…
…Right?
I may have gray hair by 25, but I wouldn’t change a second of it.  As much as I dreaded the intense effort of returning to work after the holiday break, I was so excited to see my kids again.

My evenings are full of exhaustion and yet, somehow, my life is in my evenings.  I fill my evenings with things I value, with my husband, my dog :), my best friend Megan and her precious family, my small group and the community and support it fosters. Jake and I have started reading a chapter from the Bible together each night before we go to bed and it has done so much for our marriage already!  It’s amazing what having that special time to discuss the Lord and His word does for our relationship and communication.  Because of that time we go to bed at the same time, we discuss our day, everyday.  We may lose some sleep waiting for the other, but we are intentionally devoting that time to something more valuable.

As you may notice, at no point during my day did I say it was full of sleep 🙂

In the song “Desert Song” sung by Brooke Fraser, each verse speaks of singing the same praise and prayer to the Lord, whether it’s in the desert, the fire, or even harvest “when favor and providence flow.  I know I’m filled to be emptied again.  This seed I’ve received I will sow”.  That’s where I am, in the harvest.  I know it’s only for a time, but I am so…filled.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Full

  1. Esther aka Momma

    As I read this posts, it does my heart good. It reminds me of how blessed I am to see how God’s hand is working you my children’s lives. I too feel full. 🙂

  2. Megan

    I love this post and am so glad you’re happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

